1. K-State home
  2. »Johnson Cancer Research Center
  3. »Award Programs
  4. »Spring 2012 Student Awardees

Johnson Cancer Research Center

Spring 2012 Student Awardees


(Total Awarded: $77,100 — Total Requested by Applicants: $132,793)

Plant Pathology
Derek Schneweis — mentor: Dorith Rotenberg — Molecular characterization of insect vector response to infection by a negative-sense RNA virus. $5,000

Damien Downes — mentor: Richard Todd — Regulation of the GATA transcription factor AreA in response to nitrogen sufficiency. $5,000

Meera Kumari — mentor: S. Muthukrishnan — Mode of action of the chitin inhibitor, diflubenzuron. $2,800

Weihong Zhang — mentor: Jianhan Chen — Residual structures, conformational fluctuations, and electrostatic interactions in the synergistic folding of two intrinsically disordered proteins. $2,800

Sara Duhachek Muggy — mentor: Anna Zolkiewska — Role of metalloprotease-disintegrin ADAM12 in triple-negative breast cancer. $2,800

Fabrice Ngansop — mentor: Michal Zolkiewski — AAA+ ATPases in the secretory pathway of plasmodium falciparum. $2,800

Suhao Han — mentor: Michael Herman — The role of the centrosome in the control of cell polarty by the Wnt- asymmetry pathway in C. elegans. $4,300

Kaori Knights — mentor: Sherry Fleming — The effect of hypoxia on B cells: Interactions between toll-like receptors and complement receptors. $4,300

Prashant Wani — mentor: Jeroen Roelofs — The role of proteasome specific chaperones in the nuclear localization of proteasome complexes. $3,900

Aashima Khosla — mentor: Kathrin Schrick — Regulatory role of the STARTlipid/sterol binding domain in homeodomain transcription factors. $3,900

Chen Peng — mentor: Stefan Rothenburg — Importance of poxvirus PKR inhibitors for virus host range and virulence. $4,300

Dhanushi Welideniya — mentor: Christer Aakeroy — Improving physical properties of solid-forms of anticancer compunds .$3,800

Dinusha Udukala — mentor: Stefan Bossmann — Early detection of solid tumors by determining protease activities in blood and urine. $3,800

Aruni Malalasekera — mentor: Ping Li — Heterologous expression and purification of human ghrelin O-Acyltransferase (hGOAT) in Escherichia coli. $3,800

Raj Kumar Dani — mentor: Vikton Chikan — Exploring physical properties of nanoparticles for biomedical applications. $3,800

Thi D. T. Nguyen — mentor: Duy Hua — Design synthesis, and anticancer activities of gap junction enhancers. $3,800

Ashley Brianna Sheppard — mentor: Matthew Palmatier — Neural circuitry underlying the reinforcement enhancing effect of nicotine. $3,300

Anatomy & Physiology
Lakshmi Deepthi Uppalapati — mentor: Masaaki Tamura — Evaluation of the effects of novel cell penetrating peptide nanoparticle-mediated anticancer C1B5 peptide expression in macrophages on tumor growth. $4,300

Sivasai Balivada — mentor: Deryl Troyer — Cell mediated magnetic hyperthermia of pre-clinical tumors and development of pig as a model for human cancers. $4,300

John Hirt — mentor: Mark Weiss — Development of cells and substrates for high throughput neurotoxicology screen. $4,300


(Total Awarded: $8,675 — Total Requested by Applicants: $12,484)

Naomi Ohta, Anatomy & Physiology — mentor: Masaaki Tamura 
Atsushi Kawabata, Anatomy & Physiology — mentor: Masaaki Tamura
Tej Shrestha, Anatomy & Physiology — mentor: Deryl Troyer
Debabani Ganguly, Biochemistry — mentor: Jianhan Chen
Weihong Zhang, Biochemistry — mentor: Jianhan Chen
Sujata Suresh Chaudhari, Biochemistry — mentor: S. Muthukrishnan
Ezzat El-Sherif, Biology — mentor: Sue Brown
Hiroyuki Hiraishi, Biology — mentor: Katsura Asano
Sheelu Panikkattu, Chemistry — mentor: Christer Aakeroy
Abhi Sinha, Chemistry — mentor: Christer Aakeroy
Oscar Ramos, Grain Science & Industry — mentor: Ron Madl

Back to main Student Awardees page